Did Theranos’s Elizabeth Holmes avoid contact with Bill Gates? Her anti-BillG power was David Boies

Bill writes a review of John Carreyou’s Bad Blood book https://www.gatesnotes.com/Books/Bad-Blood

 “Theranos is the worst-case scenario of what happens when a CEO prioritizes personal legacy above all else—but I hope that people don’t use it as an excuse to write off the next young woman with a big idea. I also don’t want Bad Blood to scare people away from next-gen diagnostics. Theranos went to extraordinary lengths to get around quality standards. The industry is highly regulated, and new diagnostics undergo rigorous testing.”

What got me curious is thinking about what would happen if Elizabeth Holmes was in a Steve Jobs or Bill Gates review. It is hard to imagine we should survive and they both would say the idea is good, but this is the wrong person to get it done. Steve passed away in Oct 2011 so he has no overlap with Elizabeth. Bill is still going and he is passionate about human health. It is ironic that Steve Jobs and Bill Gates as inventors is often referenced by 

Elizabeth had nothing to fear from running into Steve Jobs. Her biggest fear could be Bill Gates getting a peak at what Theranos was inside. I think Elizabeth was careful to stay clear of Bill Gates and his inner circle of health advisors. The vent diagram had no overlap. Well there is one overlap between Theranos and Bill Gates. That was David Boies.  https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Boies

  • At Cravath, he represented the Justice Department in the United States v. Microsoft Corp. case. Boies won a "victory" at trial,[10] and the verdict was upheld on appeal. The appellate court overturned the relief ordered (breakup of the company) back to the trial court for further proceedings. Thereafter, the George W. Bush administration settled the case. Bill Gates said Boies was "out to destroy Microsoft".[11] In 2001, the Washington Monthly called Boies "a brilliant trial lawyer", "a latter-day Clarence Darrow", and "a mad genius" for his work on the Microsoft case.[10]

With David Boies on the Theranos board and representing Theranos as an attorney there is no way Bill would get close to Theranos. So did Elizabeth Holmes add David Boies to protect her from Bill Gates?She did hire David Boies to protect the company and go after the whistleblowers. That didn’t quite work as the biggest heroes from the Theranos saga are the whistleblowers - Elizabeth Cheng and Tyler Schultz. Below are both of them speaking at a Stanford University event.

Will You read Glenn Greenwald's Book on Edward Snowden "No Place to Hide"

May 13, 2014 Glenn Greenwald’s “No Place to Hide” will be released.

NewImage

There are all kinds of reviews coming out.

Books|Snowden's Story, Behind the Scenes

New York Times-6 hours ago
The title of the journalist Glenn Greenwald's impassioned new book, “No Place to Hide,” comes from a chilling observation made in 1975 by ...
 
The Man Who Knows Too Much
-GQ Magazine-13 hours ago
 
 
 


The Economist lets you know the perspective in the book which will give you an idea whether you want to read it or not.

Fans of Mr Snowden and Mr Greenwald will find much to enjoy in this colourful play-by-play and exploration of classified NSA activities. But critics can expect to come away unmoved. This is because Mr Greenwald is less a journalist than an activist—an écrivain engagé—a bias that he wears as a badge of honour.

As a result, the book is remarkably one-sided: Mr Snowden is the whistleblowing hero; Mr Greenwald righteously fights on the side of the angels. Even sympathetic readers will have a hard time accepting everything Mr Greenwald, a former litigator, argues in his case against American intelligence. Indeed, in some cases a bit of intelligence-gathering seems sensible, such as when the NSA snooped on a handful of UN delegations to find out their positions prior to a vote on sanctions against Iran. Disclosing this also seems unnecessarily harmful. But in Mr Greenwald’s telling, all American surveillance comes out looking badly.

The book is at its best when it shines light on Mr Snowden’s motives. He plainly acted with conviction, and he will likely go down in history as a hero. Yet Mr Greenwald fails to let readers reach their own conclusions about the NSA and Mr Snowden’s conduct, preferring to impose his partisan views. Perhaps that is to be expected when the storyteller is not just a messenger but also a protagonist.

Social Media gives a loud voice to something as small as a tweet, Teen Arrested for Terrorist Tweet Joke

What people don’t get putting their words or images on social media is their posts can be a loud voice.  And part of the broadcast can get you in trouble.  CNET posts on teenager who got arrested for a terrorist threat tweet.

Twittering teen arrested after 'joke' terror threat to American Airlines

A teen tweets at American Airlines that she's from Afghanistan, a member of al-Qaeda, and is "gonna do something really big." The airline responds forcefully. The teen is frightened, then arrested.

  • 4
sarah1.pngPerhaps not the wisest tweet.Screenshot by Chris Matyszczyk/CNET

Some people have not learned the lesson that falsely shouting fire in a movie theater is not protected by the freedom of speech.

The Schenck case[edit]

Holmes, writing for a unanimous Court, ruled that it was a violation of the Espionage Act of 1917 (amended with the Sedition Act of 1918), to distribute flyers opposing the draft during World War I. Holmes argued this abridgment of free speech was permissible because it presented a "clear and present danger" to the government's recruitment efforts for the war. Holmes wrote:

The most stringent protection of free speech would not protect a man falsely shouting fire in a theater and causing a panic. [...] The question in every case is whether the words used are used in such circumstances and are of such a nature as to create a clear and present danger that they will bring about the substantive evils that Congress has a right to prevent.

Holmes wrote of falsely shouting fire, because, of course, if there were a fire in a crowded theater, one may rightly indeed shout "Fire!"; one may, depending on the law in operation, even be obliged to. Falsely shouting "Fire!" in a crowded theater, i.e. shouting "Fire!" when one believes there to be no fire in order to cause panic, was interpreted not to be protected by the First Amendment.

 

Washington hit with 911 outage, what was cause?

Here is something you don’t hear about too often.  911 outage.  Washington state had an outage that lasted for hours.

Washington state 911 restored after overnight outage

by KING 5 News and Associated Press

Posted on April 10, 2014 at 5:57 AM

Updated today at 7:54 AM

 

 

SEATTLE  -- 911 service has been restored in Washington following a statewide outage Thursday.

CenturyLink spokeswoman Kerry Zimmer says it's unknown if the problem was caused by computer hacking or an equipment problem.

Zimmer says it began about 1:30 a.m. Thursday at Sheridan, Ore., and service in Oregon was also affected for a time.

All service was restored just after 7 a.m.

Tesla's Elon Musk claiming gas cars 5X likely to catch fire misses point, NHTSA TREAD Act haunts Auto industry

Elon Musk claims the Tesla is 5 times safer than gas cars.  I know a few data center folks who have bought a Tesla.

The head of electric car maker Tesla pushed back aggressively against claims that the company’s vehicles are a fire danger, saying that only 3 in 25,000 Teslas havecaught fire and that those incidents were the result of high speed impacts.

“It hurts to see articles that the car is unsafe… nothing could be further from truth,” said Elon Musk, noting that Teslas are five times less likely to catch fire than gas-powered cars, which produce hundreds of fire-related injuries every year.

Thanks to the Infamous Firestone Tread problems, there is the NHTSA TREAD act and just because the Tesla is safer than overall gas fires, doesn’t mean the TREAD act won’t kick in.

Here is a graphic of the process.  for an interactive click on the link.

NewImage